Ezedzes Equation

Posted on December 26, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

There is the Nielsen’s law of internet bandwidth (http://www.useit.com/alertbox/980405.html). There is moores law, covered in the same link.

What I say is, when the processing power increases, the software fills up to slow down the experience.  The speed with which Lotus 1-2-3 ran on a 4.77 Mhz 8088 was more or less the similar to the speed with which an excel 2003 runs on a 2 Ghz p-iv.  granted excel does a lot more than lotus… but how much of what excel is doing is spreadsheet related and how much is look-and-feel related?  it has a lot of new functions, it sorts in many different languages, its charts are sexier… but it is slow.

You know, it may just be me, but installing office 2003 seems to even slow down the startup time and overall responsiveness… even when not using office.

So, poor me has managed to get a 256kbps connection at home, which means from some mirrors I can download as fast as 25KB a second, sometimes faster.  But the time taken for the download remains the same as it was when I was on a dial-up, getting somewhere around 3 KB a second.  huh?  the file sizes have gone up.  It used to take an hour for me to download then, it takes an hour for me to download now.  I used to consider downloading a 1 MB file a challange then, I consider 100 MB a challange now.  But the time it takes for me to get my work done remains the same.

So… my equation.  B0/S0-B1/S1=0  The ratio between bandwidth and size of transfer, previously and currently is identical.  This means time taken for transfer remains identical.

also, P0/C0-P1/C1 = 0.  Similarly for processing speed and consumption of processing by applications.

cheers

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Posts

  • del.icio.us

  • Blog Stats

    • 76 hits
  • Meta Information

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

