Usefulablity

Posted on December 28, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, what do you know!  I was downloading something off sourceforge and an interesting banner add caught my eye.  Unfortunately, I had already clicked somewhere and before you know it, I was in another page.  I press the back button and there we are… a different ad!

The feature that no advertising syndicate offers for the simple thought that no one would want to use it… a search of their advertisers…  based on the slogans they had pasted in the banner.

You know, the ads that pop up on google when you search are different all the time.  If a particular ad caught my eye, I may not see it again…

Maybe that would be one thing to do… and there are these other things no one is thinking of doing… browser history and browser cache are grossly underestimated as USPs.  If I had a browser (or if I could hack firefox) which stored every page I visited, neatly tagged with date and time, and everything on that page, as I saw it… it would be great for me.  If the page had client side javascript which fetched ads from the site, that part should be replaced by the actual ad that I saw at that time.  Effectively all javascript is disabled… so are all http refresh tags…  It is of great utility for me, who like most people, surfs like crazy, with multiple instances of browsers and multiple tabs within browsers, and who clicks from link to link.

Google Desktop search does something like this… maybe I could use that because it also becomes browser independent…

Another thing I feel is a long overdue is to be able to take a webpage snapshot…. that is save the entire webpage as one tall jpeg (or whatever).  There are again tools that do this… but I am saying that this should be part of the browser offering (or a plugin for the browser).  I will go off to addons.firefox site to search for something like this, but I just don’t know what to call it.  Webshot?  Save webpage as image?  Html to Jpeg??  What key words describe this concept?

Which is what brings us to another point.  Concept Search instead of key word search.  You know, if you take any book lying near you… preferably some well know one which has sold a huge number of copies….  pickup any page in random and type in about ten successive words from any point… surrounded by double quotes, into google… you are likely to see a link an ebook for that… a downloadable pdf… maybe you will see a pdf which would be a sample chapter made available by the publisher.  That is wonderful… but that is the problem!  I dont know the keywords…  If I dont know the keywords… how then do I search?  I know the concept… I want to convert the page I am seeing in the browser to a image… not a screenshot… because that would capture only the visible page.  Maybe I should call this a pageshot… How do I search for this on google, or on addons.firefox?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Posts

  • del.icio.us

  • Blog Stats

    • 76 hits
  • Meta Information

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

